Hard To Follow

Posted: August 22, 2012 in Teachable Moment
Tags: ,

Those who know me well know about the infamous house building process from hell and are probably sick of listening to me whine about it. However, today I am going to turn my whining into some productive observations, so feel free to enjoy the moment as it probably won’t last very long. I want to talk about learning to follow my husband’s leadership. In all of our 9 ½ years of being married, I have never really had a hard time following Wheeler’s leadership… He has always had a pretty solid direction for where our family was going and the principles that we were to operate under, so even when we had disagreements about one thing or another, ultimately we usually would come to a good place of compromise and I didn’t feel the urge to fight him.

In the last 6 months, this has not been so and here’s the deal. Wheeler is right and I am wrong. I know this for a fact, in the deepest part of my heart, but somehow, in my flesh I keep trying to wiggle my way out of having to wait on this house. Living unsettled for over a year and a half has not been easy for anyone, including Wheeler, but no matter what has happened he has never wavered on the fact that we are where we are supposed to be and we are going in the direction we are supposed to go. I however, have tried everything to get out of waiting and each time I try the Lord gently thwarts my efforts and keeps telling me to follow my husband’s leadership. Why do I have to follow? Thanks to the curse, it is totally against my nature to follow. But here’s the thing the Lord has shown me in recent days… Ephesians 5 clearly demonstrates that marriage is set up to be a reflection to the world of Christ’s relationship to His church. He has set up my husband to lead as a picture of how Christ leads his church and I am an example of how the church is to follow Christ.  As a mom, I am also teaching my girls about how they should follow Christ by how I follow Wheeler. Ouch, conviction hurts so badly! Now Wheeler isn’t perfect like Christ is perfect and sometimes he will make mistakes in where he leads us, but it does not change the fact that his leadership is for my protection. It’s obvious that God wants us right where we are, so what would happen if Wheeler gave up on his conviction just because I didn’t like being uncomfortable? Disaster; because it is not circumstances that make us happy but being where God wants us.

So I guess my point is that leadership is hard to follow, whether it is the perfect leadership of Christ or the imperfect leadership of our husbands. However, in the hardship I can see God refining my character to make it a better reflection of His design, especially as a mom. It hurts a lot and honestly, I am failing way more than I am succeeding, but I am thankful for the chance to learn. Also, I just want to close by saying thanks to my husband and to all the husbands out there who are learning to lead their families well. Just remember that we are learning too and we need you even when we fight you… Just like the church needs Christ even though we fight Him.

Leave a Reply

