Imaginary Throne

Posted: October 24, 2012 in Teachable Moment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I don’t know about anyone else out there but I ALWAYS imagine myself to be a much better person than I actually am. In my day dreams I always say the most profound words at the most profound moments, do the perfect things at exactly the perfect times and of course, I look amazing the entire time. In my mind, I sit on an imaginary throne; I hold the final judgment on all things, everything always goes the way I determine it should go and everyone sees me as this perfect and all-knowing being like the elf lady, Galadriel in Lord of the Rings. Of course this is far from the reality of who I really am on many levels, and if I told the truth, I spend more time than I care to admit in these imaginations of my heart. I know that to some this may seem a harmless diversion. It is something that everyone, if they are honest, engages in on a daily basis. However, I have recently been reminded that these “imaginations” or “day dreams” hide a poison that is so deceptive, I can’t even see it in myself unless God Himself reveals it…Pride.

Luke 1:50-52 says this “And His mercy is upon generation after generation toward those who fear Him. 51 He has done mighty deeds with His arm; He has scattered those who were proud in the thoughts of their heart.52 He has brought down rulers from their thrones, And has exalted those who were humble.”

In the Amplified Bible, verse 51 reads like this “He has shown strength and made might with His arm; He has scattered the proud and haughty in and by the imagination and purpose and designs of their hearts.”

Have you ever noticed that someone who is proud is consumed with how people view them? They are always imagining that when they get that new car or achieve that dream they’ve been chasing that people will see them as important and maybe even be a little bit jealous. They draw very quick judgments on other people’s behavior based on what they imagine to be the person’s motivations. They have a need to control circumstances to achieve outcomes they imagine are the best for them. They sit on imaginary thrones in their minds, where they are perfect and all-knowing.

Well, I think it’s pretty clear that “they” is me, which means that Luke’s description of God scattering the proud “in and by the imagination…of their hearts” cuts to my soul like a double-edged sword. As a mom, do I really want to teach my kids that they should navigate life based on what they imagine to be true? Not at all! I want to teach them to have a reverential, grateful fear of God and view His truth as the ultimate authority on who they are and how they should navigate life. This is the only way true humility can be born in the human heart. I want my kids to be humble because as Luke says, it is to the humble that God shows mercy and it is the humble that He exalts. As always, the only way to teach them this is by example. I desperately want to be that example but even more than that I desperately want to be an object of God’s mercy not His resistance. So today I am begging God to take me off my imaginary throne and teach me how to live life at His feet. I truly hope that I have inspired some honest self-examination and maybe God will make us all better examples to our kids.

Leave a Reply

