Junior Asparagus: The Theological Genius

Posted: February 28, 2013 in Teachable Moment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Like most Christians out there I spend a lot of my time trying to hide from God; particularly when I know what I should do but I don’t want to do it. It’s like when my three-year-old child knows she should share her toys but instead hides under the table with the doll she stole from her sister. She knows she is in the wrong, yet somehow thinks I won’t notice the screaming from my other child and by hiding she will be able to hold onto what she views as her happiness. I play this little game of hide-and-seek with God more than I care to admit. Fortunately for me, He always finds me and sometimes it is in the most creative of ways; like speaking through an animated asparagus.

On a typical day with the kids I was sitting among the mess of toys watching Veggie Tales, which is a staple item for all Christian parents. I was tired, cranky and feeling very pouty about the circumstances I was in at the time. My husband, my children and I had been living with my parents for a year and a half waiting for a house to be built by a builder that was having “issues” which is code for “totally incompetent on all levels”. Every time we turned around there was some new problem that delayed our house from being finished and on this particular day I just couldn’t take it anymore. My eyes welled up with tears as I let the frustration of my circumstances crash over my soul in successive waves. I just wanted out. My husband and I had both agreed that this was the right thing to do and we genuinely felt we were going where God wanted us to go; however, in that moment none of it mattered. I knew I should be resting in God’s sovereignty and provision but to me this was pure insanity. I just wanted what I wanted so I could feel “happy” again. I didn’t want to do the right thing anymore and I certainly didn’t want to talk to God about it because I knew He would probably speak truth that I didn’t want to hear. I was hiding; or at least I was trying to hide but it didn’t take long for God to crash my pity party. The Veggie Tales episode playing on the TV was Josh and The Big wall and I hadn’t been paying much attention until I heard a voice say “Wait! Don’t you see what you’re doing?” A little startled, I sat up straight. It was Junior Asparagus reminding the vegetable version of the Israelites what had happened when they didn’t trust God’s provision, choosing instead to do things their own way. He reminded them of all God had done for them; little things like parting the Red Sea and making food rain down from heaven in the middle of the desert. Then he closed with this phrase “Don’t you see! Sometimes God asks us to do things that don’t make sense to us… But when we remember that God made us and loves us and always wants what’s best for us we can be sure that His way is the best way.”

Who says Veggie Tales are for kids! I was a grown woman blown away by the theological genius of a talking asparagus! But even more than that, I was blown away by the fact that God loved me enough to use whatever He had to in order to find me. I was hiding like a three year old under a table desperately grasping onto what I thought would make me happy.

Well, after all that I honestly didn’t want to feel any better but I did. Not because my circumstances suddenly got better but because I knew that if He could use an animated vegetable then He could use anything, and that meant even when I was trying to run I couldn’t really hide from this God who pursues me in love. So the next time you feel like playing hide-and-seek with God just remember He will find you and He just might use the theological genius of Junior Asparagus to do it.

Leave a Reply

