A Life Weighted in Glory

Posted: May 4, 2013 in Teachable Moment

A few nights ago my husband and I were watching the first session of Tommy Nelson’s Daniel study. He began his teaching by laying out nine reasons why studying prophecy in the Bible was of utmost importance. While all the points were quite profound, there was one that resonated with me on a subject that has been stirring in my mind for the last week. He was teaching out of 2 Corinthians 5:9-10 which says this:

“Therefore we also have as our ambition, whether at home or absent, to be pleasing to Him. For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, so that each one may be recompensed for his deeds in the body, according to what he has done, whether good or bad.”

He described how the study of prophecy should keep in our vision the judgment seat of Christ; not because we will be judged for sin, because that was paid for on the cross, but because we will be judged for what we have done with our lives and rewarded accordingly. For most Christians this is not an earth shattering concept, but what struck me was his analysis of the words “good” and “bad” at the end of the verse. He said that in Hebrew the word for glory carries the connotation of weight. The greek word “Phaulon” used in this verse for the word “bad” carries the connotation of something that is worthless and has no weight. So the deeds in my life that are truly good will carry the weight of God’s glory, and the deeds in my life that are bad will blow away like chaff in the wind because they are worthless, having no substance before the throne of God.

This is something that I think of often and as strange as it may sound, I spend many of my thoughtful moments imagining what my eulogy would sound like if I were to die tomorrow. What would people say about me? Would the stories they tell reflect the glory of my Savior or would they reflect only my own ambitions? Would my existence be like chest weighted with eternal treasures or would it look more like a pile of ashes full of wasted time? Often these questions reveal to my heart the places in my life that are filled with worthlessness and have lost the weight of God’s glory.

I know to some this might sound like a morbid line of thinking, but personally I think Tommy Nelson is right. By maintaining a view of my day at the throne of God, the desire to please Him is kept awake so that I don’t fall asleep. And maybe when I go home someday there will be enough of my life weighted in His glory for Him to say “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”

So I guess my challenge to all my fellow thinkers out there is to ponder what your eulogy might sound like if you died tomorrow… would there be weight to the things people would say about you or would it mostly be chaff in the wind?

Daniel Study by Tommy Nelson
(http://www.gotothehub.com/biblestudies/tommynelson/daniel/)

Comments
  1. Tommy Nelson is a classic. Always good stuff.

    If you have the workbook to that study, I know who wrote it. My name is buried somewhere on the inside cover. 🙂

  2. Dad says:

    What we have done with our lives for His Glory? That makes you think about how many traps Satan has in this world to pull you and I away from the tasks God has laid in front of us to do. Wasting the time He has given us through His Grace to be about His business here on earth. Do we think we can multi task between the world and God? Super job Angela thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

